spacer
Australian Government Solicitor

 

    View the AGS Twitter account    Visit the AGS YouTube channel     Visit the AGS LinkedIn page
Express law  

Follow us on Twitter


Express law

22 November 2013

Mobile privacy: A better practice guide for mobile app developers

The Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) has released a new guide – Mobile privacy: A better practice guide for mobile app developers.

How can the OAIC guide help you?

The guide is relevant to all organisations involved in developing, commissioning or distributing smart phone, tablet and other mobile applications (apps). Accordingly, it should be of assistance to agencies in raising awareness of app-related privacy requirements and best practice steps to help make your apps more privacy friendly.

The guide includes a checklist to help build privacy protections into your apps, and contains a list of resources to refer to if you need more information.

The guide is available on the OAIC website.

How can AGS assist with app-related legal, risk and compliance issues?

Did you know that there are over 100 separate legal agreements, licenses, term and conditions relating to the Apple and Android app development and app store distribution?

AGS can assist you at every step in the process of developing, commissioning, approving and launching apps and putting in place appropriate governance and continuous compliance arrangements.

To help get you started on understanding the app legal environment, AGS makes available the following free legal resources:

AGS podcast App Development Challenges for Commonwealth Agencies

AGS fact sheet App Development Legal Issues

 

For further information please contact:

Tony Beal
Deputy General Counsel Commercial
T 02 6253 7231
tony.beal@ags.gov.au

Adrian Snooks
National Group Leader Commercial
T 02 6253 7192
adrian.snooks@ags.gov.au

Rachel Chua    
Senior Executive Lawyer
T 02 6253 7086
rachel.chua@ags.gov.au

Justin Davidson
Senior Executive Lawyer
T 02 6253 7240
justin.davidson@ags.gov.au

Kate Brophy
Senior Lawyer
T 02 9581 7678
kate.brophy@ags.gov.au

Stuart Hilton
Senior Lawyer
T 03 9242 1431
stuart.hilton@ags.gov.au

Joanna Piva
Senior Lawyer
T 02 6253 7122
joanna.piva@ags.gov.au

Andrew Schatz
Senior Lawyer
T 08 8205 4211
andrew.schatz@ags.gov.au

Swee-Kim Tan
Senior Lawyer
T 02 6253 7441
swee-kim.tan@ags.gov.au

Important: The material in Express law is provided to clients as an early, interim view for general information only, and further analysis on the matter may be prepared by AGS. The material should not be relied upon for the purpose of a particular matter. Please contact AGS before any action or decision is taken on the basis of any of the material in this message.